Public at Public

January 20, 2013

I’m pleased to have been asked to participate in the first show at the Louisville Visual Art Association’s new gallery space, Public. I was given a really beautiful lightbox and asked to create a piece on the theme ‘Public’. After much sketching and a few false starts, I came up with something I’m pretty happy with. I’m calling it “You Are What You Meet”

IMG_0162

Come see what it looks like plugged in, with light behind it! It will look different! Will it look better? Well, I don’t know. That’s the question, isn’t it? Let’s keep our fingers crossed.

I brought this piece in front of my classes at Waggener High School and had Mrs. Linkhart’s Art 2, Art 1, and Computer Design students give me their opinions, and their feedback was wonderful. It was great having having this piece get a conversation started, and they ‘got where I was coming from’. I would be happy to discuss all these heavy meanings with you in person at the show:

public @ PUBLIC

1/24 – 3/3

Members Only Reception

Wednesday, Jan. 23  6 to8pm

Opening Reception

Thursday, Jan. 24  6 to 9pm

with music by Lydia Burrell

Louisville Visual Art Association
609 W Main Street, 2nd Floor
Louisville, KY 40202
502.584.8166

Leave a Reply

